Past Trials

Scottish Six Days Trials - 1920

RQ Parts
Off Road Moto
Domino Racing
Camio Moto
South West Trials
Tech Suspension
North Distribution Ltd
John Lee Motorcycles
Highland Temporary Works
My Trial
Braktec Brake Systems
Gavin Cairns
Leven Homes
Blackbird Racing
56N Bikes
Inch Perfect Trials
Caroline Sandiford
Riders taken on the timed hillclimb at Glendoe in the 1920 SSDT

1920 Scottish Six Days Trial

In the 1920 Scottish Six Days Trial, the competitors gathered in Perth in the heart of Scotland on the first Sunday in July. There, an official garage had been nominated with a space allocated for all the entrants machines, where they were examined to verify their state before the start.

The 1920 Trial attracted 102 entries, of which 94 made it to the Start. A gruelling 1010 miles were covered by the hardy competitors over the course of the six days.

The routes faced by the competitors in 1920 were:

First Day - 174 miles

Perth - Amulree - Aberfeldy - Kirkmichael - Braemar (lunch) - Tomintoul - Grantown - Inverness.

Second Day - 187 miles

Inverness - Abriachan - Dingwall - Evanton - Lairg (lunch) - Altnaharra - Bettyhill - Thurso - John o’Groats - Wick.

Third Day - 138 miles

Thurso - Wick - Latheron - Berriedale - Brora - Lairg (lunch) - Evanton - Beauly - Inverness.

Fourth Day - 160 miles

Inverness - Drumnadrochit - Invermoriston - Mam Ratagan - Glenelg (lunch) - Tomdoun - Glendoe - Craggie Inn - Inverness.

Fifth Day - 191 miles

Inverness - Carrbridge - Newtonmore - Pitlochry (lunch) - Kenmore - Stirling - Edinburgh.

Sixth Day - 160 miles

Edinburgh - Broughton - Innerleithen (lunch) - Gifford - Haddington - Edinburgh.

The following awards were made for the 1920 Trial:


H R Denley (Morgan)
R S Macrae (Harley-Davidson sidecar)
H E Fairley (ABC)
Hugh Gibson (Clyno)
H M Batten (P&M)
E A Colliver (Indian)
J L Stocks (Ariel)
J J A Dias (P&M)
L Newey (Ariel)
F Turvey Jun (BSA)
D S Milne (Matchless sidecar) 
James Steel (BSA)
R M Knowles (Norton)
D H Noble (Rover)
H F Edwards (BSA)
L L Sealey (BSA)
Crompton Guthrie (Norton)
A L Downie (Wilkin)
G Cumming (Sunbeam)
A F Knight (Clyno sidecar)
R B Clark (Verus)
G Grinton (Harley-Davidson sidecar)
Tom Morton (Rover)
J A Newman (Sunbeam)
H R Davies (AJS sidecar)
Leslie Guy (Scott)


W Westwood (Triumph)
E W Choldcroft (AJS)
B Alan Hill (P&M)
T S Sharratt (Indian)
H Alexander (Matchless sidecar)
Wm Buchanan (BSA)
W Edwards (BSA)
J A Hilger (Rover)
W J Chambers (BSA)
H F Mace (ABC)
Rowland Fellows (Triumph)
J R Fellows (James)
R E Darnton (Indian)
A J Sproston (Lea-Francis)
J S Holroyd (Blackburne sidecar)
J A C Sangster (James)
P W White (Sunbeam)


A J C Lindsay (Rover)
C V Freeman (Clyno)
G V Shaw (Norton)
Ellison Hawks (Douglas)
R Carfrae (Triumph)
P W Bischoff (Clyno)
S Hubbard (HB)
A G Cocks (Beardmore-Precision)

Information compiled and provided by Deryk Wylde.