Past Trials

Scottish Six Days Trials - 1922

Tech Suspension
Blackbird Racing
My Trial
Gavin Cairns
Inch Perfect Trials
John Lee Motorcycles
Highland Temporary Works
56N Bikes
Domino Racing
Braktec Brake Systems
North Distribution Ltd
Camio Moto
Caroline Sandiford
South West Trials
Off Road Moto
RQ Parts
Leven Homes

1922 Scottish Six Days Trial

In the 1922 SSDT the rules for the event were similar to the previous year. A major change was to the date selected - May 1st being scheduled for the commencement. This was not because the organisers intended to increase the severity of the event, but mainly because Scotland was attracting an ever increasing number of tourists and finding accomodation for the large number of competitors was very difficult. Another factor was the popularity of competitive events. It was the start of fixture congestion! The event attracted a new record 143 entries, of which a record 119 made it to the start.

The routes for the 1922 event were:

First Day - 188 miles

Edinburgh - Stirling - Crieff - Aberfeldy - Dalnacardoch - Pitlochry -Kenmore - Perth. Test hills: Sherrifmuir, Amulree, Trinafour, Kenmore.

Second Day - 190 miles

Perth - Forfar - Laurencekirk - Banchory - Ballater - Bridge of Avon - Grantown. Test hills: Cairn O’ Mount, Cabrach, Bridge of Avon.

Third Day - 142 miles

Grantown - Farr House - Drumnadrochit - Fort Augustus - Kyllachy - Grantown. Test hills: Abriachan, Glendoe, Inverfarigaig.

Fourth Day - 165 miles

Grantown - Bridge-of-Browne - Achbreck - Cabrach - Castle Newe - Ballater - Banchory - Cairn o’Mount - Charterslane - Aberdeen. Test hills: Bridge-of-Browne, Cairn O’ Mount

Fifth Day - 161 miles

Aberdeen - Laurencekirk -Forfar - Perth - Dollar - Falkirk - Murrayfield Car Terminus - Edinburgh. 161 miles. No test hills.

Sixth Day 178 miles

Edinburgh - Broughton - Talla Linns - Cappercleugh - Moffat - Durisdeer - Tynron - Penpont - Wanlock Water - Biggar - Edinburgh. 178 miles. Test hills: Talla Linns, Tynron, Blackford Hill.


A F Downie (AJS sc)
D Bell (AJS sc)
E W Choldcroft (AJS)
F W Giles (AJS sc)
Mrs Knowles (AJS)
J Stirling (AJS)
R M Wilson (AJS)
L Newey (Ariel sc)
N W Downie (Ariel)
R N Lockhead (Ariel)
A Rollason (Ariel)
W Woodcock (Ariel sc)
H M Batten (Beardmore-Precision)
H Greaves (Beardmore-Precision)
F H Dixon (Brough Superior)
M C Breese (BSA)
A A Farr (BSA)
H S Perrey (BSA sc) - Harry Perrey, later to be BSA Competition Manager.
L L Sealey (BSA)
J H Walker (BSA sc)
J R Alexander (Douglas)
A B Fairley (Douglas)
R Cathrick (Dunelt)
G H Wilson (Edmund)
E A Barnett (Francis-Barnett)
S M Greening (Francis-Barnett)
W R Bashall (Martinsyde)
J T Bashall (Martinsyde)
L H Gofford (Martinsyde)
A A F Symes (Martinsyde)
A H Alexander (Matchless sc)
H Alexander (Matchless sc)
D S Alexander (Matchless sc)
G Nott (Matchless)
D Pearsons (Matchless)
W A Carr (Morgan)
D H Calder (New Imperial)
L Paynter (Norton)
W E Smithie (Norton)
P Cunningham (P&M)
R Lewis (P&M)
J M Townsend (P&M sc)
R Gibson (Raleigh)
G Guthrie (Raleigh)
S H Hubbard (Rex-Acme)
E S Astley (Rudge sc)
T T Sibley (Rudge sc)
W Moore (Scott)
G W Scott (Scott)
J D Price (Scott)
R W Stanfield (Scott)
J R Fellowes (Sunbeam)
J M Phillips (Sunbeam)
R Spence (Sunbeam)
J M Philpott (Velocette)
E W Ramsay (Velocette)
W H Hardman (Wilkin)
R B Clark (Zenith-Bradshaw)


H E Horwood (Ariel)
J A Watson-Bourne (Brough-Superior)
C A Henshaw (Hawker)
A Lea (Lea-Francis)
R P Ransome (Lea-Francis)
J Richardson (Lea-Francis)
Mrs Hardee (Matchless sc)
G M Black (Norton)

It was reported that 4 Bronze Medals were awarded and there were 42 competitors retired during the week with various problems.

Information compiled and provided by Deryk Wylde.